23

Welcome to the Michael Jordan years.

These are 23 things lessons I’d like to share with this world:

1. I saw this on Tumblr and it is very true: “Your fear of looking stupid will hold you back.” So, I guess I may look stupid, but hey- I am too busy grinding away, getting stuff done, and being a boss.

2. CrossFit will test you. It will test your mental capabilities to your very core and it will bring you discomfort. But once you complete the WOD, you’re just like…I did it. It will build your mental strength, tolerance, and this improved mindset will transfer to your daily personal life as well. CrossFit teaches you that you will overcome. It will also make those traps and biceps defined as hell. I’ll show you later.

3. Build strong relations with friends and people you meet and be kind to them. Good karma is planted that way.

4. You are tired from work, school, balancing both, working 2/3 jobs, etc, but remember, people work hard every day. Knowing that across the world, people are working very hard to survive, to help their children, to feed their family, reassures you that you can so do it. You can.

5. Read a Simple Act of Gratitude by John Kralick. One of my best mentors gave this book to me and it has truly lifted me up when I felt that my life was depressing or when I lacked motivation. Every one goes through a roadblock in life. Appreciating what you have and others will give you perspective. Nothing horrible lasts forever.

6. Don’t act so pompous, because God will humble you.

7. People age, but we can either be an old fart or be a kid at heart. I got a perm and I finally dress up for work just so I could look older, but you know…I still reference SpongeBob and make lots of animated noises when I talk. It keeps me young and pleasant to be around. Just ask my colleagues.

8. Thanking people surprises them. People just aren’t thanked enough. Thank your friends for texting you when they check in to see how you’re doing. Thank God. Pat yourself on the butt and thank yourself for being so awesome.

9. Life is good working with people who are kind, helpful, and pleasant. Be that kind of person, too.

10. Do laundry on Friday evenings before going out. That way, you don’t have to worry about it on Sunday evening or freak out knowing you have very limited articles of clothing like underwear. A little “struggle” now is like a big reward later.

11. Incorporate yoga or deep stretching before rigorous activities or working out. Your body at 21 changes at 22. Seriously.

12. Have an aggressive attitude when living life. Work, study, work out, do it all aggressively. It helps you beat the wimp out of you when a challenge arises.

13. Stop texting and eating. If you look around at a restaurant, you will see 90% of the people texting and eating. I saw a mom and son eating together and they were just texting while eating. I used to do this when I was with my siblings at home. We’d all just be glued to our little screens. Can we bring back the sexy in one-on-one talking?

14. You can’t always eat what you want. Practicing good eating habits now will be easier when you get older. When I was on the subway in Korea, an old grandpa had told me that I should not eat everything I wanted. At that cherubic 19 years of life, I was like, “Who is this man? Whatever, YOLO, I eat whatever and whenever I want!!!!” However, now as I observe the eating habits of others around me and the many diseases that come with poor eating habits, following that veggie life is a must.

15. Don’t look at your work emails when you are on paid time off (PTO) or vacation. Just spare yourself.

16. Reconcile and apologize if you have hurt someone or there was a misunderstanding. However, if the other individual will not return the open mindedness, close that door, let it go, and make new friends and relations.

17. If you reach out to someone and do not hear from them, do not be quick to judge thinking that they are ignoring you. Life can be pretty hectic so try to understand.

18. When you’re at the gym, don’t carry your phone. The gym is my fortress to not think about anything, but the sweat coming down my face. It’s the one time when I do not care about the texts, calls, or emails.

19. Call your grandparents. They love the crap out of you and get so happy when you take the time to ask how they are. For goodness sake, without them and the struggles they experienced to be alive during all the wars, history, you would not be alive.

20. Just go out and enjoy outings. You can sleep when you die.

21. Shop at thrift stores. You can seriously get 10 articles of clothes for around $20. Whereas the mall life, one shirt is $20. Be smart and spend your hard-earned money on a vacation; that is something you cannot get at a thrift store.

22. Stop saying you’re busy. Everyone and their moms are busy. Saying that makes you sound like you’re so important, because you’re not the only one important. Make time for things important to you.

23. Care about people. This world is pretty mean, and not enough love, apologies, or gratitude is shared among us.

Happy birthday to me.

Leave a Reply

